Lazy Spinach Dip Bites

This has been one of those weeks where time moved slow and yet fast. Most of our time was spent hunting down Whole30 foods and recipes and then cooking all those into meals, then cleaning up those meals only to go to bed to start all over the next day. Major time commitment. We made some tasty things and some not so tasty things, and after 72 hours of feeling sea sick I pulled the plug. What made me feel so sick? I’m not really sure. But I wasn’t eating the things I needed to be healthy because I didn’t have an appetite so we decided to reevaluate. Still keeping everything the program has to say in mind, we are going ahead with more flexibility.

Then there are the things you can’t control… Like a post-Christmas, Christmas-themed potluck work party. I am awful at bring-a-dish parties. I have no family recipes, and totally different food preferences than my co-workers so I was scrambling to find a good recipe. Where else to turn but the ever faithful Pinterest! I wanted an easy crowd pleaser and after scouring websites I decided to Franken-recipe. Lazy Spin Dip Bites were born. So if you have waited to the last minute to make a potluck dish, fear no more! All you need is…

Image

Ingredients:

2 tubes crescent rolls

2 cups jarred Spinach dip

1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese (plus some to sprinkle on top) 

Sprinkling of parmesan cheese

Steps:

Preheat your oven to 375 and grease a cupcake tin. Then unroll a can of the crescent rolls and pinch together the seams. I cut the dough into 15 squares using a dough cutter but found them to be a little small so next time I would go bigger. Place each square into a cupcake cup with the corners just over the sides enough that they won’t fall in. Then I poured 2 cups of the jarred dip into a bowl and mixed in the 1/2 cup mozzarella. To help the rolls keep shape I only used a tablespoon of the dip in each cup. Sprinkle each with some cheeses and here is what they’ll look like…

Image

 

Then toss them in for 10-12 minutes since the dip is done and the rolls just need to be baked. 

Image

 

They made the house smell delicious! After they cooled I popped each one out and put them in a 9×13, and stored in the fridge. The plan is to warm them back up in the oven before the party so they’re warm and melty again! And here’s what they look like after you burn your tongue trying a bite and shit gets real…

Image

 

Hope these can help you out of a pinch! They offer so many possibilities I can’t wait to try another version! Now if I just knew what I was going to wear…

 

-Jenny Kay

One thought on “Lazy Spinach Dip Bites

Leave a Reply

